2018 Basketball WA Awards
Annual Awards, Featured News

2018 Basketball WA Awards

On Saturday 8 September, Basketball WA held its 2018 Gala Awards night in the Crown Towers Ballroom. The awards also included the SBL, WABL, Community, Country and High Performance Awards.

Congratulations to the following recipients of the BWA Awards:

Commu­nity Program of the Year – Cockburn Youth Centre

Association Volunteer of the Year – Darren Stebbing (Perry Lakes Hawks)

Personality of the Year – Fleur McIntyre

Arthur McRobbie Award – Andrew Horstman (Geraldton Buccaneers)

Country Administrator of the Year – Marina Quain (Bunbury Bears)

Smarter than Smoking Male WABL Player of the Year – Luke Travers (Rockingham Flames)

Smarter than Smoking Female WABL Player of the Year – Imogen Ayliffe (Willetton Tigers)

Smarter than Smoking Male WABL Coach of the Year – Andrew Cooper (Rockingham Flames)

Smarter than Smoking Female WABL Coach of the Year – Robyn Winter (Willetton Tigers)

Smarter than Smoking WABL Referee of the Year – Connor Foy (Willetton Tigers)

WABL Volunteer of the Year – Nicole Craig (South West Slammers)

SBL Score Table Official of the Year – Sharon Barrett (South West Slammers)

SBL Statistician of the Year – Tammy Ong (Perry Lakes Hawks)

WSBL Coach of the Year – Craig Mansfield (Lakeside Lightning)

John Gardiner MSBL Coach of the Year – Dave Daniels (Lakeside Lightning)

SBL Referee of the Year – Steve Diconza

SBL Most Improved Referee of the Year – Ethan Lloyd

SBL Referee Coach of the Year – John Stone

SBL All Defensive Women – 

Point Guard:  Brianna Moyes (Cockburn Cougars)
Shooting Guard: Alexandra Ciabattoni (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)
Small Forward: Antonia Farnworth (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Power Forward: Ashleigh Grant (Lakeside Lightning)
Maddison Allen (Rockingham Flames)

SBL All Defensive Men – 

Point Guard: Gokul Natesan (Geraldton Buccaneers)
Shooting Guard:  Damien Scott (Willetton Tigers
Small Forward: Ben Purser (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Power Forward: Maurice Barrow (Perth Redbacks)
Centre: Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning)

SBL All-Star Women – 

Point Guard: Alison Schwagmeyer (Lakeside Lightning)
Shooting Guard: Anita Brown (Mandurah Magic)
Small Forward: Antonia Farnworth (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Power Forward: Jennie Rintala(Kalamunda Eastern Suns)
Centre: Kayla Steindl (Perth Redbacks)

SBL All-Star Men – 

Point Guard: Jack Isenbarger (Lakeside Lightning)
Shooting Guard: Gavin Field (Cockburn Cougars)
Small Forward: Ben Purser (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Power Forward: Jalen Billups(Joondalup Wolves)
Centre:  Daniel Alexander (Lakeside Lightning)

WSBL Most Improved Player – Jewel Williams (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)

MSBL Most Improved Player – Travis Durnin (South West Slammers

SBL Statistical Awards WSBL Stats – 

FG%Jessica Jakens (55.06%) – Perth Redbacks
3PT%Taneisha Harrison (42.53%) – Rockingham Flames
FT%Sydney Fipps (86.27%) – Lakeside Lightning
Steals p/gCameron Flynn (2.65) – East Perth Eagles
Assists p/gAlexandra Ciabattoni (5.45) – Kalamunda Eastern Suns
Rebounds p/g Natalie Burton (12) – Perry Lakes Hawks
Blocks p/gMaddison Allen (2.86) – Rockingham Flames
Points p/gAnita Brown (24.18) – Mandurah Magic

MSBL MVP – Jalen Billups (Joondalup Wolves)

WSBL MVP – Alison Schwagmeyer (Lakeside Lightning)

SBL Volunteer of the Year – Travis Young (Rockingham Flames)

SBL Referee Recognition of Services Award – 10 Years: Travis Stewart

Media (Print/Electronic) of the Year) – HawksTV (Marco Noe)

Story (Print/Electronic Story) of the Year – Kate Fielding (South Western Times) Story: “Giving it his best shot”

Photograph of the Year – Grant Lauterbach

Journalist of the Year – Mitchell Woodcock (South Western Times)

Smarter than Smoking Healthy Basketball Association of the Year 2018 – Stirling Senators (Warwick Stadium)

High Performance Award – Andrew Cooper U18 Metro Men’s Head Coach Gold Medal Australian Junior Championships


Related News