BWA Annual Dinner – Award Winners
Featured News

BWA Annual Dinner – Award Winners

Basketball WA held its 2011 Annual Dinner on Saturday night at the Hyatt Regency in Perth. Attending by nearly 200 people, the night was a celebration of another great year of basketball in Western Australia. 

Congratulations to everyone who took out awards on the night, a full list of all the winners is below.

Volunteer Awards
Scoretable Official of the Year – Ruth Rogers (Geraldton)
Referee Coach of the Year – John Stone
Statistician of the Year – Richard Grant (Lakeside)
Personality of the Year – Mark Shipley
Volunteer of the Year – Jakie Keepa (Willetton) 

Western Australian Basketball League (WABL) Awards
Go for 2&5 Female Player of the Year – Mikayla Pirini (Willetton)
Go for 2&5 Male Player of the Year – Nathan Smith (Wanneroo)
Go for 2&5 Female Coach of the Year – Robyn Winter (Willetton)
Go for 2&5 Male Coach of the Year – Matt Foster (Willetton)
Go for 2&5 Referee of the Year – Kyle Easther (Wanneroo)

SBL Media Awards
Journalist of the Year – Thomas Davis (Geraldton Guardian)
Electronic Media of the Year – Wanneroo "Wolfpack" Wolves
Best Print Media – Geraldton Guardian
Print Story of the Year – Mark Donaldson (Wanneroo Weekender)
Photograph of the Year – Mick Cronin

Country Awards
Arthur McRobbie Award – Ken Davies (Denmark Basketball Association)
Country Administrator of the Year – Meredith Clarke (Esperance Basketball Association)

SBL Statistical Awards
Best Free Throw Percentage – Matthew Schmechtig 89.50% (Wanneroo) & Leah Rush 85.30% (Kalamunda) 
Best Three-Point Percentage – Joel Questel 47.60% (Kalamunda) & Kara Hargreaves 33.30% (Cockburn)
Best Field Goal Percentage – Jarrad Prue 65.90% (Lakeside) & Marita Payne 53.40% (Perth)
Leader in Blocked Shots Per Game – Tom Jervis 2.7bpg (East Perth) & Marita Payne 3.44bpg (Perth)
Leader in Assists Per Game – Joel Wagner 10.3apg (Perth) & Casey Mihivolovich 7.9apg (Mandurah)
Leader in Steals Per Game – Chris Dodd 3.2spg (Stirling) & Casey Mihovilovich 3.19spg (Mandurah)
Leader in Rebounds Per Game – Jarrad Prue 21.6rpg (Lakeside) & Lavessa Glover 12.46rpg (South West)
Leader in Points Scored Per Game – Adrian Majstrovich 30.04ppg (Perth) & Hailey Dunham 19.21ppg (Mandurah) 

WSBL All-Star Team
Point Guard – Kate Malpass (Willetton)
Shooting Guard – Casey Mihovilovich (Mandurah)
Small Forward – Jasmine Hooper (Willetton)
Power Forward – Leah Rush (Kalamunda)
Centre – Samantha Norwood (East Perth)

MSBL All-Star Team
Point Guard – Ty Harrelson (Cockburn)
Shooting Guard – Luke Payne (Lakeside)
Small Forward – Anthony Lee (Perry Lakes)
Power Forward – Greg Hire (Wanneroo Wolves)
Centre – Tom Jervis (East Perth)

SBL Major Awards
Peter Lucas Medal "Most Improved Referee" – Travis Stewart
Referee of the Year – David Bull
WSBL Coach of the Year – Anthony Fletcher (East Perth)
MSBL Coach of the Year – ANdy Stewart (Lakeside)
Most Improved Female Player – Rosie Tobin (Perry Lakes)
Most Improved Male Player – Damien Scott (Cockburn)
Most Valuable Female Player – Casey Mihovilovich (Mandurah)
Most Valuable Male Player – Anthony Lee (Perry Lakes) 

Photo by Wayne Wright (Wayne Wright Photography)

Related News