Peter Houghton Appointed SRDP Coordinator
Featured News

Peter Houghton Appointed SRDP Coordinator

Basketball WA is pleased to announce the appointment of senior referee Peter Houghton as the new State Referee Development Program (SRDP) Coordinator for 2013.

Houghton, currently a National League/SBL referee and one of the State’s elite officials,  will lead the SRDP through 2013 with a view to educating and training referees who have been identified as having potential to referee SBL in future years.

The SRDP is a two year program and an integral part of the Basketball WA’s elite referee development pathway. The selection-based group undergo monthly training and development using Basketball Australia’s curriculum in both theoretical and practical components of officiating.

The appointment of Houghton is seen as a step in the right direction not only for referee development but also SBL development.

Basketball WA Education and Training Manager Vlad Alava highlighted the appointment as an enormous plus for referee development.

“Peter arrives in the post in a time where the importance of educating and developing our officials has never been so important. In appointing him as the coordinator of the SRDP, we are giving our identified young talent one of the best to learn from.”

“Peter is a current National League referee in both the NBL and WNBL, has been SBL Referee of the Year on three occasions and officiated in multiple SBL grand finals over his twenty one years of SBL involvement. He is also a certified Referee Coach so I’ve got no doubt that the future is in very good hands with Peter at the helm.”

Houghton joins fellow senior referee compatriots David Bull and Damian Lyons in becoming involved in Basketball WA’s elite referee education programs, with the latter two coordinating the National Referee Development Program (NRDP).

2013 State Referee Development Program Referees

Tom Bower

Josh Bruinsma

Kyle Easther

Ben Hay

Brannon Heath

Tabbatha Hile

Jordan Lehmann

Brock Lowe

Phillip Papakostas

Scott Sampson

Sarah Sciarrone

Lenora Sundstrom

Aaron Wiggins

Tanya Wollard

Related News