Basketball WA, Featured News



Basketball Australia is delighted to confirm that seven Australian officials have been selected by FIBA/IWBF to officiate the basketball events at either the Tokyo 2020 Olympic or Paralympic Games. 

The Olympic and Paralympic basketball tournaments are considered by many as the pinnacle international event for the sport, particularly for officials, where there are limited international opportunities. 

Backing up from their selection for the FIBA Men’s Basketball World Cup 2019, Australian referees Scott Beker and James Boyer have been chosen to officiate in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic basketball tournament, while Vanessa Devlin will make history when she officiates the 3×3 basketball event, with the sport’s newest formatting making its Olympic debut in Tokyo. 

WNBL Referee Panel member Shahrad Shafaghi, has also been appointed by FIBA as a video operator/technical assistant for the Olympic Games. 

Blaine Krapljanov and Helen Rosenberg have been announced as referees for the Paralympic Games, alongside Matt Wells who will be a referee supervisor. 

Basketball Australia CEO Jerril Rechter AM, has congratulated the seven individuals on their selection. 

“On behalf of Basketball Australia, I would like to extend our warmest congratulations to Scott (Beker), James (Boyer), Vanessa (Devlin), Blaine (Krapljanov), Helen (Rosenberg), Shahrad (Shafaghi) and Matt (Wells) on their selection by FIBA and IWBF to officiate at this year’s Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

“As with our athletes and coaches, referees and technical officials dedicate years of hard work and make many sacrifices to be at their best, and to be chosen to represent their craft and country at the Olympics and Paralympics is an enormous achievement. 

“Australia has a proud tradition of developing world class officials and the selection of these seven representatives is further proof of just how strong the pathway is. We wish them all the best with their preparations over the coming months and look forward to seeing them officiate in Tokyo later this year.” 

Devlin will be the first to see action in Tokyo, with the 3×3 Basketball competition set to tip off on Saturday 24 July at Aomi Urban Sports Park and conclude with the Medal games on Wednesday 28 July, 2021. 

Becker, Boyer and Shafaghi won’t be far behind, with the Olympic Basketball competition to be contested from Sunday 25 July – Sunday 8 August 2021 at Saitama Super Arena. 

Then Krapljanov, Rosenberg and Wells will take centre stage, when the Wheelchair Basketball competition commences at the Paralympic Games on Wednesday 25 August and ends on Sunday 5 September 2021, with games at both Ariake Arena and Musashino Forest Sport Plaza. 

Tokyo 2020 Olympics Scott Beker (NSW, Newcastle Hunters) – referee, 5×5 tournament James Boyer (NSW, Hills Hornets) – referee, 5×5 tournament Vanessa Devlin (SA, Basketball SA) – referee, 3×3 tournament 

Shahrad Shafaghi (NSW, Hornsby Spiders) – video operator/technical assistant, 5×5 tournament 

Tokyo 2020 Paralympics Blaine Krapljanov (WA, South West Association Manjimup) – referee Helen Rosenberg (NSW, City of Sydney) – referee Matt Wells (NSW, City of Sydney) – refer supervisor 

DOWNLOAD MEDIA RELEASE Australians selected to referee Tokyo_for 30032021

Basketball Australia Media Contacts: 
Rebecca Trbojevich 
Head of Media and Communications 
Mobile: +61 (0) 413 855 608 

Maddison Pettit PR & Media Coordinator
+61 (0) 416 107 823 

Related News